The story of Trelissick House
Trelissick's colourful history stretches as far back as 1750 but it's most distinguished owner was Leonard Cunliffe, a former director of the bank of England.
Love at first sight
Cunliffe fell in love with this Cornish house as he sailed past it on his yacht Laranda in the early 1900s. The views from the land, of deep wooded valleys with flashes of blue water from the estuary below, did nothing to dampen his enthusiasm. In 1937 he passed the house down to his stepdaughter Ida and her husband Ronald Copeland.
The next generation
Ronald was the chairman of the Spode-Copeland firm of bone china manufacturers in Staffordshire and hence part of the potteries aristocracy. They lived at Trelissick throughout their careers donating the house and gardens to the National Trust in 1955 and now with your help we have the opportunity to tell their story.
The complete picture
With its elegant Ionic portico facing the sea, opening part of the main house to visitors will complete the picture. We hope to marry the self-confidence, elegance and dynamism of the Edwardian interior with those breathtaking estuary views from the gardens, which so impressed Cunliffe.
A remarkable legacy
And while Ida and Ronald take much of the credit for these outstanding gardens, the contents of the house reflect the remarkable achievements of four generations of the same family. The whole experience: the architecture, paintings, works of art, furniture, ceramics and garden accentuate the significance of the Cunliffe's contribution to Trelissick.