NGS Festival supported by 10 of our gardens

The garden at Hinton Ampner is open as part of the NGS Festival © NT and Stephen Robson

The garden at Hinton Ampner is open as part of the NGS Festival

Ten of our gardens will be supporting the National Gardening Scheme’s (NGS’s) annual Festival this weekend.

The Festival Weekend, 7-8 June, aims to raise money for the NGS and to generate enthusiasm for different types of gardening.

With a total of over 350 different gardens involved in the Festival, the NGS hope to give everyone the opportunity to visit a garden within their area – perhaps one that they’ve not been able to visit before.

A great weekend of gardens

George Plumptree, chief executive of the National Gardens Scheme said: “It’s great to have these outstanding gardens involved in our annual Festival Weekend. This is the second year we’ve run this event and our aim is for visitors to really enjoy as many gardens as possible in 48 hours.

“It’s a real opportunity for gardening enthusiasts to see gardens which include urban gardens, formal country gardens, herb gardens, artists’ gardens and village ‘group gardens’ as well as some celebrity gardens including gardens of Hotel Endsleigh in Devon, belonging to Olga Polizzi.

Supporting good causes

Mike Calnan, our head of gardens said: 'We are proud to support the NGS Festival Weekend as it is a fantastic fundraiser for good causes giving people an opportunity to enjoying new and different types of gardens.

'Currently, 3,800 gardens open for the National Garden Scheme in England and Wales throughout the year, including over 80 in our care.'

Proceeds from the Festival will go to the National Gardens Scheme for distribution to their beneficiary charities including Macmillan Cancer Support, Marie Curie Cancer Care, Carers Trust and ourselves.

This year the NGS gave away £2.5 million, including £120,000 to us which we use for training gardeners in heritage gardening to cover everything from essential gardening skills to more advanced period planting styles. With the NGS’s generous we are able to offer what is arguably the most comprehensive grounding in heritage gardening available anywhere.

Which of our gardens are involved?

Our gardens opening as part of the scheme are:
Acorn Bank, Cumbria
Biddulph Grange, Staffordshire
Hinton Ampner, Hampshire
Montacute, Somerset
Tintinhull, Somerset
Sheffield Park, Sussex
St Michael’s Mount, Cornwall
Stourhead, Wiltshire
Trengwainton, Cornwall
Washington Old Hall, Co Durham

Normal entry charges apply. Free entry for members.

More on our gardens and parks