History

Watersmeet House a romantic undertaking

Exmoor winters can be harsh, but stunning © Karen Birch

Exmoor winters can be harsh, but stunning

Watersmeet and its romantic setting is a haven for our many visitors. Built originally as a fishing lodge and romantic retreat, with connections to the romantic poets, it has been a tea room since 1901.

Radioactive water of the East Lyn river

The source of fresh water to the visiting victorian tourists © National Trust

The source of fresh water to the visiting victorian tourists

The Lynrock mineral water factory opened on the East Lyn in 1911. Owned and run by the Attree brothers, who lived at Myrtleberry a short distance up the river. The factory bottled mineral water and made ginger beer until 1939 when it closed due to lack of demand.

Electricity pioneer: the East Lyn river

Watersmeet Falls, where the East Lyn River and Hoar Oak Water converge © Jacqueline Le Sueur

Watersmeet Falls, where the East Lyn River and Hoar Oak Water converge

Lynmouth had one of the first hydro electric power stations in the UK, built in 1890 and fed by the tumbling torrent of the East Lyn River. The station was active until the 1950s when Lynmouth was connected to the National Grid.

Watersmeet yesterday: a hive of industry

Temperatures could reach as high as 900°C in a lime kiln © Bill Scolding

Temperatures could reach as high as 900°C in a lime kiln

Today a place for quiet reflection on the beauty of nature, the East Lyn Valley was in its past, a site of industry and endeavour. Woodland Industry, lime kilns and mining all had a part to play in the history of the area and their relics have been left for keen eyes to discern.

Share