Our top picks for book lovers this Christmas

Published: 01 November 2021

Last update: 05 August 2021

Blog post
A selection of books on a wooden background with Christmas lights and decorations

There's so much to love about the festive delights of winter. Lights twinkling on trees, the familiar sound of Christmas tunes and tucking into homemade treats. One of the best things about the holiday season is, surely, finding that ideal book to give a loved one. Well, you’ve come to the right place. From thoughtful stocking fillers for grownups to story books for children, we’ve got something for every kind of reader in your life.

Stocking fillers

Whether you’re looking to do ‘Secret Santa’ with a difference, or something meaningful to squeeze into a stocking, choose a small book with big impact for a perfectly portable present. 

The Calm Kitchen book on a white, stone-like surface. It is surrounded by a loaf of bread, lavender and wild garlic flowers on a chopping board.

The Calm Kitchen 

Filled with delicious vegetarian recipes that inspire a mindful approach to cooking, this pocket-sized gem is ideal for frazzled foodies. The Calm Kitchen encourages us to engage all five senses while chopping, grating, kneading and peeling – and, of course, eating. As we approach the ‘bleak midwinter’, this comforting culinary companion will help to lift the spirits and nourish both body and mind.

Book cover of 125 Treasures

National Trust 125 Treasures 

If you’re looking for a unique gift for a history enthusiast, the richly illustrated National Trust 125 Treasures is sure to pique their curiosity. Showcasing highlights from across the National Trust’s collections – from Cardinal Wolsey’s purse to Ellen Terry’s Lady Macbeth costume – this gorgeous book features museum-quality objects, as well as important examples of decorative arts, furniture, textiles and more. Arranged chronologically and spanning over 2,000 years, it pairs exquisite photographs with engaging and illuminating captions to reveal a wealth of global history.

Shed Heaven cover

Shed Heaven 

Know someone who’s potty about their shed? They’re not alone. Britons own a world-beating 11 million sheds and spend over 60 million hours a week in them. More than mere storehouses, these beloved buildings are homes from home. Shed Heaven is a superbly illustrated celebration of some of the most significant sheds in Britain’s history – beach huts, bothies and everything in between – as well as those that have inspired writers, artists and birdwatchers.

Coffee table companions

Treat someone to a real showstopper of a book this Christmas. Providing valuable advice for the kitchen and garden and an absorbing journey into Britain’s architectural past, these guides will not only look stylish on a coffee table or bookshelf, but also be faithful friends to turn to, time and time again.

The Hedgerow Cookbook

The Hedgerow Cookbook 

Sloe gin and homemade preserves make excellent Christmas gifts. But what about going one step further? The Hedgerow Cookbook guides readers on how to find their own wild ingredients for a whole range of foods and drinks. Authors Caro Willson and Ginny Knox provide over 100 easy recipes, visualised in tempting photography, that make the most of nature’s ingredients all year round. From elderflowers and nettles to hazelnuts and damsons, readers can explore nature’s store cupboard and enjoy adding these free and tasty ingredients to their culinary repertoire.

School of Gardening

The National Trust School of Gardening 

Any keen gardener will be thrilled to get their green fingers on a copy of Rebecca Bevan’s in-depth, easy-to-follow guide. Drawing on 300 years of horticultural history, it brings together tips from National Trust Head Gardeners to offer practical advice for garden development – on everything from flower borders to fruit and vegetables. Brought to life with beautiful illustrations and stunning photographs, it’s the kind of trusty companion they’ll treasure for years to come.

Houses of the National Trust book on a wooden background

Houses of the National Trust 

This newly updated and expanded edition is a fantastic choice for fans of history, architecture, design and photography. Covering every period, from medieval to modern, Lydia Greeves leads us on a tour of some of Britain’s greatest architectural treasures. This handsome book brings places to life with glorious images and stories of the remarkable people who lived and worked in them. Imagine your loved one curling up on the sofa after Christmas, cuppa in hand, and exploring a fascinating array of houses, churches, windmills, castles, barns and even pubs. It’s a present you can be proud of giving.

Gifts for little bookworms

Add to the magic of a child’s Christmas with one of these gorgeously illustrated books, each with a positive, encouraging and important message at its heart. 

A copy of the book The Wide, Wide Sea on a white background surrounded by shells and pebbles

The Wide, Wide Sea 

Introduce little ones to the importance of caring for the coast with this poignant yet heart-warming picture book. The story, vividly brought to life by Jenny Løvlie’s illustrations, follows a young child who befriends a seal. When a storm hits, the child is upset to see their local beach covered in litter. Whose fault is this? Who can fix it? The Wide, Wide Sea will help young readers to understand the causes and effects of plastic pollution, and will inspire them to turn the tide on this increasingly pressing issue.

Sunday Fun Day book on a wooden background with Christmas lights and decorations

Sunday Fun Day 

Make every weekend a memorable one with this brilliant activity book, filled with 52 seasonal ideas that will inspire children to explore the natural world around them. From gardening projects and outdoor obstacle courses to creative crafts and warming winter recipes, there is something for everyone, whatever the weather. Featuring beautiful illustrations on every page, Sunday Funday is a delightful gift book for the whole family to enjoy.

Beatrix and her Bunnies book on a child's bed

Beatrix and her Bunnies 

This uplifting tale tells the story of how Beatrix Potter became a famous creator of children’s books and a renowned protector of the countryside. Charmingly illustrated, it's a wonderful and inspiring gift for animal lovers, budding writers and artists, and young environmentalists. Fans of Peter Rabbit and Benjamin Bunny will love finding out all about Beatrix and the real-life bunnies that inspired her. They’ll discover Beatrix’s deep connection with animals, her determination to be published, and her vital role as a pioneering conservationist.

Still searching for the perfect gift? We've all kinds of books to satisfy the readers in your life. From practical guides and historical non-fiction, to puzzle books, picture books, cookbooks and more. You’re sure to find the perfect gift.

Browse our books

Whether you’re looking for something for a foodie, gardener or outdoorsy type, for little bookworms or just for yourself, we’ve got it covered. Browse our books on the online shop and find the perfect gift for your loved ones.