Outdoor theatre in the East of England

A performance of Much Ado About Nothing

Watch re-imaginings of literary classics, see favourite children’s tales come to life or enjoy new dramatic works this summer.

Twelfth Night

Coggeshall Grange Barn - Saturday 10 June

With a fresh and vibrant approach to Shakespeare, Three Inch Fools will be bringing us one of the Bard’s most beloved comedies, in the majestic setting of Grange Barn.

Anglian Mist

Orford Ness - Saturday 24 and Sunday 25 June

Stuff of Dreams Theatre Company presents Anglian Mist, a fictional telling of events that occurred on Orford Ness during the Cold War. It’s a story of love, lies and betrayal set against the background of the top secret research happening at that time.

The Comedy of Errors

Hatfield Forest - Thursday 29 June

Ickworth - Sunday 16 July 

The Lord Chamberlain’s Men are back with one of Shakespeare’s best plays, known for its farce and slapstick.

The Wind in the Willows 

Willington Dovecote & Stables - Friday 30 June

Houghton Mill - Saturday 1 July

Flatford - Saturday 26 August

Join Ratty, Mole and Toad for a summer adventure. What starts as a search for the best picnic spot rapidly turns into a hilarious escapade. 

A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Sheringham Park - Saturday 8 July

Oxburgh Hall - Friday 14 July

Flatford - Friday 28 July

Ickworth - Sunday 20 August

Shakespeare’s best-loved romantic comedy. Let yourself be whisked away on a thrilling journey to the most magical of forests and meet star-crossed lovers, playful fairies and hilarious travelling players. 

The Mikado

Hatfield Forest - Thursday 10 August, 7.30pm

Illyria Open Air Touring Theatre presents The Mikado, one of Gilbert & Sullivan’s most popular comic operas. Take a trip to Japan with some great songs and costumes.

Emma

Coggeshall Grange Barn - Thursday 24 August, 7.30pm

Meet Jane Austen’s favourite heroine in this wonderful theatrical adaption by Dot productions.