The beginnings of a mini empire
Lloyd bought Harewoods House (not owned by the National Trust) in 1875. Over the next 20 to 30 years he built a mini empire (c. 2034 acres) by buying neighbouring land and property.
Homes for Lloyds’ estate workers
Lloyd bought various dwellings around the village of Outwood
. He also built several cottages for his estate workers, including Aberdeen House and cottages, South Lodge and Burstow Park Cottages.
A gift for all to enjoy
Outwood Common and the Harewoods estate (farms, woods and cottages) were given to the Trust by Mr and Mrs Theodore H Lloyd (Alfred’s son and wife) between 1955 and 1965.
Lloyd wanted visitors to enjoy his estate and we have created several footpaths, across fields and through woods, for you to discover this peaceful haven in bustling Surrey.
The estate’s vernacular (domestic) buildings are amongst the richest and most varied in Southern England.
Wilmots Farm, Burstow Park Farm and Hornecourt Manor Farm all have medieval origins. Other farmhouses and cottages date from the 17th to the early 20th century.
The estate also has some important farm buildings; 17th and 18th century threshing barns, early 19th century shelter and cart sheds and planned Victorian farmsteads.
Outwood Common was used by commoners for timber and grazing until the mid 1800s. Many ancient oak trees, some around 200 years old, can still be seen today.
Outwood Cricket club was founded in 1889. During the Second World War, the Canadian Army camped in the woods around the ground and used the pavilion as their Sergeants’ Mess and the playing area for baseball.
The Sandhills estate (including Castle and Sandhills Farm), to the north of Harewoods, was donated by the Countess of Munster in 1968.
There are a number of lovely footpaths to explore here too.