Visit Rainham Hall
Rainham Hall opened fully to the public in 2015 following a major £2.5 million conservation and interpretation project. Today visitors can enjoy the Georgian house and fine architectural features, while discovering the Hall's history through our changing exhibition programme.
Please note the Hall building is closed from 1 January - 9 February 2018 to enable us to carry out essential conservation works. Our Stables Cafe and Gardens will be open as normal during this period. The Hall will re-open to the public on 10 February 2018 for visiting between Wednesdays to Sundays until 31 December 2018.
The Hall stands proudly at the centre of Rainham village, in the urban London Borough of Havering. By aristocratic standards, the Hall is a modest house, but when it was built for Captain John Harle in 1729 it must have been a building of some significance, in both size and architecture, just as it still is today.
The Hall is a rare survivor and remarkably fine example of Queen Anne style architecture. It was designed as a home, to be lived in and used. Nearly 50 different families and inhabitants have resided at Rainham Hall, including merchants, artists, vicars and architectural historians.
After being requisitioned during the Second World War, the Hall’s survival was uncertain. Eventually the National Trust took it over ownership in 1949, but it was let out to tenants with limited public access. Now fully reopened to the public, and the fabric of the building conserved for future generations to enjoy, we hope Rainham Hall will be a focal point in the vibrant and diverse local community.
Due to the many changes in ownership, Rainham Hall does not have an indigenous collection of furniture or objects relating to any era in it's history. During our major rennovation project, a new approach has been created to tell the story of the Hall's unquie history.
Remembering the Day Nursery at Rainham Hall (10 Feburary - 31 December 2018)
This year we will be illuminating the fascinating era in the Hall's history when the building operated as a day nursery for local children between 1943-1954. Immerse yourself in our exhibits which cover three floors of Rainham Hall. A series of creative projects, activities and public events will run throughout 2018. Read more about the exhibition here and return to our homepage for details on how to plan your visit.