Summer Exhibitions 2019

The interior of the Priest's House

The 15th century Priest’s House at Easton on the Hill is one of the National Trust’s smallest properties. As well as housing a comprehensive collection of artefacts and photographs of the local Collyweston slating industry there will be two special exhibitions this summer.

Historic Local Airfields

This exhibition highlights Easton's historic links with RAF Wittering and the earlier airfields on the site: Stamford and Easton/Collyweston airfields. The exhibition will showcase the people who flew and worked there and their aircraft.

Easton on the Hill Horticultural and Crafts Society Centenary

Easton's Horticultural and Crafts Society was founded in 1919. The society is celebrating its centenary with an exhibition showing records and photographs of the Society's activities down the years.

Collyweston Slating and Mining

The permanent slating exhibition now includes two short videos showing work taking place in Claude Smith's mine in Collyweston - the first as it was before Collyweston mining virtually stopped in the 1960s and the second one after work restarted using modern machinery and techniques a couple of years ago.

The builidng will be manned every Sunday afternoon between 2.00 and 4.30pm during June, July and August. As usual outside these times access can be obtained by contacting one of the nearby keyholders shown on the building notice board between 10am and 5pm.

Entrance is free and all are welcome.

 

Priest's House, Easton on the Hill.
A view of the Priest's House.
Priest's House, Easton on the Hill.