The Tiger Who Came to Tea exhibition on tour

The Tiger Who Came to Tea exhibition banner

Get up close to the beloved artwork from Judith Kerr’s much-loved children’s classic picture book, 'The Tiger Who Came To Tea', at an exhibition touring National Trust places until 2020.

Celebrating the book's 50th anniversary and over five million copies sold, The Tiger Who Came to Tea exhibition is now at Quarry Bank, Cheshire. In addition to displays of Judith Kerr’s delightful illustrations, the exhibition will feature storytelling, a family trail, fully interactive play kitchen and a life-size model tiger knocking at the door for tea.

The Tiger Who Came to Tea exhibition continues from Quarry Bank on a nationwide tour (scroll down for full details), bringing this picture book, loved by so many children around the world, to a new generation of family audiences. Milk and two sugars please.

Inflatable tiger and tea table in The Tiger Who Came to Tea exhibition

The Tiger Who Came to Tea exhibition at Quarry Bank 

From Saturday 8 September you can meet The Tiger Who Came to Tea at Quarry Bank. Join us to celebrate children's stories old and new as we explore the Quarry Bank Worker's Library alongside the interactive exhibition.

Judith Kerr with 'Tiger Who Came to Tea' artwork

The Tiger Who Came To Tea exhibition at Acorn Bank  

Get up close to the beloved artwork from Judith Kerr’s much-loved children’s classic picture book, 'The Tiger Who Came To Tea'. This touring exhibition of National Trust places is currently showing at Acorn Bank until 31 December 2018.

Judith Kerr looks at 'The Tiger Who Came to Tea' artwork
Judith Kerr looks at the 'Tiger Who Came to Tea' artwork
Judith Kerr looks at 'The Tiger Who Came to Tea' artwork

You'll be able to enjoy the exhibition at the following Trust places:

2018
Saturday 8 September – Sunday 28 October 2018: Quarry Bank, Cheshire
Saturday 3 November – Sunday 6 January 2019: Acorn Bank, Cumbria

2019
Saturday 12 January – Sunday 3 March: Blickling Estate, Norfolk
Saturday 9 March – Sunday 28 April: Gunby Hall, Lincolnshire
Saturday 4 May – Sunday 30 June: Belfast, County Antrim and County Down
Saturday July 6 July – Sunday 1 September 2019: Newark Park, Gloucestershire
Saturday 7 September – Sunday 3 November 2019: Bateman's, East Sussex
Saturday 9 November – Sunday 5 January 2020: Knole, Kent

2020
Saturday 11 January – Sunday 1 March: Osterley Park, Middlesex
Saturday 7 March – Sunday 29 April: Dyffryn Gardens, Vale of Glamorgan

This exhibition has been originated by Seven Stories, The National Centre for Children’s Books.

Judith Kerr next to the 'Tiger Who Came to Tea'

An interview with Judith Kerr 

Renowned author Judith Kerr, reveals more about the creation of 'The Tiger Who Came to Tea', her life as a child refugee and much more in her interview with us.