Rufford house and collections
Around 1530 a handsome timber-framed manor house was built at Rufford, in the low-lying mosslands of south-west Lancashire.
Its owner was Sir Robert Hesketh, whose family had been Lords of the manor for at least seven generations. Sir Robert decorated his new home with the coats of arms of his ancestors and their patrons, the powerful Earls of Derby.
We have daily talks in the Great Hall about the history and various uses of the building - join us to learn more.
Collections to look out for
- A significant and interesting collection of armour is on display and conservation cleaning of the armour takes place throughout the year.
- A beautiful grand piano is a recent addition to the collection at Rufford Old Hall. In a walnut case, it dates from 1875-1885 and is on display in the Drawing Room. Come and have a tinkle of the ivories yourself.
- Some key figures in Rufford's history have their portraits in the Drawing Room. Discover how the Hesketh family grew in wealth and property.
- An early 17th-century tapestry showing the fall of Troy, in which the Trojans flee from the Greeks, who have entered the city in a wooden horse.
Although photography is not permitted in the house, you're very welcome to take photographs in the 16th-century Great Hall, which includes the large 'moveable screen', impressive architecture and important armour collection.