Portsmouth and District Centre

Flower-filled garden meadow at Uppark

The Portsmouth and District Centre was founded in 1982. Our objectives are to promote the National Trust locally and nationally, raise funds in its support and arrange a programme of events and activities to make membership of the National Trust more enjoyable.

The annual membership fee is £5 per person and all National Trust members and volunteers are welcome to join.

We hold talks on a wide variety of interesting topics at St George’s Church Hall, Waterlooville on the second Thursday of  the month, except August, at 7.30pm – admission charge currently £3.50 for members, guests £4.00 per person.

We arrange coach trips during the summer months, together with regular lunches and an annual holiday. We also have bi-monthly walks on the first Saturday of the month start at 10am and end with a pub lunch.

Among the properties we support are Uppark (pictured above), Hinton Ampner and Mottisfont. 

We issue a newsletter to every member twice a year.

The Portsmouth and District Centre is independent of the National Trust and governed by a constitution common to all the charity’s Centres and Associations. Our affairs are conducted by a committee of unpaid officers and members who are elected at our Annual General Meeting held in March each year. 

Contact us

For more information and to join the Portsmouth & District Centre, please get in touch with our Membership Secretary  Mrs  Myra Clear on 023 9226 4768  or email

For any other enquiries please contact our Secretary  Mrs  Lynda Parsons on 02392 865846 or email.     

Dates for your diary

Saturday 2 September 2017:  Walk at Soberton (Meet at the White Lion at Soberton)

Wednesday 13 September 2017:  Outing to Hampton Court Palace

Thursday 14 September 2017: Lecture meeting – ‘History of the Royal Forest of Portchester – East Bere’ by Roger Clooney

Thursday 12 October 2017 - Lecture meeting - 'Experiences as a Stunt Performer in Film and TV' by Denise Edwards and Bring & Buy sale
 
Thursday 26 October 2017 - Autumn lunch at The Maritime Club, Queens Street, Portsmouth
 
Saturday 4 November 2017 - Walk at Stoughton, meet at the Hare & Hounds, Stoughton
 
Thursday 9 November 2017 - Lecture meeting - 'Treasures of Petworth de-mystified' by Bob France
 
Thursday 14 December 2017 - Lecture meeting - 'History Minus the Boring Bits!' by Susan Howe
 
Saturday 6 January 2018 - Walk at Langstone Harbour, meet at Baffin's Pub on Tangiers Road, Portsmouth
 
Thursday 11 January 2018 - Lecture meeting 'Steaming through Sussex' by Bill Gage
 
Thursday 8 February 2018 - Lecture meeting 'Sea Side Piers' by Anya Chapman
 
Saturday 3 March 2018 - Walk, meet at The Bat & Ball, Clanfield
 
Thursday 8 March 2018 - AGM
 
Thursday 12 April 2018 -  Lecture meeting - 'Stories in Stone' by Ann King
 
Saturday 5 May 2018 - Walk at Hinton Ampner, meeting at Hinton Ampner car park
 
Thursday 10 May 2018 - Lecture meeting, speaker TBC