Opening times for 4 December 2023
Asset Opening time Hamlet Dawn - DuskMTWTFSS2728293012345678910111213141516171819202122232425262728293031
Access is to the green only, the cottages are occupied. Access is by a gate on Hallen Road, with five steps up to the green. On-street parking on Hallen Road. Dogs on leads welcome. Public toilets and café at the Blaise Castle Estate.
Hamlet of nine cottages laid out around an open green. Four miles north of the city centre, built in 1811 to accommodate retired staff from Blaise Castle estate.
A delightful hamlet of nine picturesque cottages laid out around an open green. The hamlet, which is four miles north of the city centre, was built in 1811 to accommodate retired staff from Blaise Castle estate in Henbury.
Designed by John Nash each cottage is unique, this style was later widely copied. The hamlet was one of the first examples of a planned community and there is a stone sundial and water pump on the green which commemorates its construction. The cottages are lived in and therefore entry to the public is to the village green only.
Blaise Castle Estate was bought in 1789 by a Bristol banker John Harford who, with the help of John Nash, later set about creating Blaise Hamlet for his retired servants.