Skip to content

History of Long Crendon Courthouse

The exterior of Long Crendon Courthouse in Buckinghamshire showing a white building and tiled roof.
Long Crendon Courthouse in Buckinghamshire | © National Trust/Chris Lacey

Long Crendon Courthouse was built in the 15th century. The upper room was used as a Manor Court, and from the 18th century the lower rooms were often used to house the local poor.


Long Crendon Courthouse is constructed from an oak timber frame of five bays with brick infill on a stone base. The jettied upper story was a common feature of buildings from this period and provides extra space.

Decorative features include the curved-braces in the east bay in the ‘Wealden’ manner and alternating queen-strut and collar trusses in the large upper room. The roof is made of old tiles and, apart from the north side, the building has been lime-washed.

Early history

Situated on the High Street and adjacent to the Parish Church, the Courthouse was likely constructed in the late 15th as shown by dendrochronology (the dating of timbers).

The upper room was used as a Manor Court and these historically took place annually at Long Crendon on the Thursday of Whit week. The day would be rounded off with a dinner served from the kitchen below.

The Manor Courts continued to be held by successive owners until the 1900s. It is also possible that the building was used as a wool store as it has previously been known as the ‘Staple Hall’.

Following the Poor Law Act of 1601, and from as early as 1603, the ground floor was often used to house the parish poor people. This floor contained five rooms and a kitchen.

Later years

The Courthouse has also been used by the local Sunday School, society meetings, and as the Church storehouse.

By the mid-19th century, the ground floor was in a state of disrepair and despite attempts by the local Reverend to have the building repaired, by the 1890s the whole building had fallen into decay.

Following a fundraising campaign that achieved more than £400, the National Trust purchased the Courthouse in 1900, and saved it from being demolished. Long Crendon Courthouse was only the second property to be acquired by the National Trust. The building was restored and repaired in 1901.

The upper floor is open to the public on selected dates throughout the year. The ground floor is tenanted.

The exterior of Long Crendon Courthouse in Buckinghamshire showing a white building and tiled roof.

Discover more at Long Crendon Courthouse

Find out when Long Crendon Courthouse is open, how to get here, the things to see and do and more.

You might also be interested in

A black and white archive image of Buckingham Chantry Chapel as seen from the road

History of Buckingham Chantry Chapel 

Discover Buckingham Chantry Chapel’s history and the secrets it has to tell. Buckingham’s oldest building, it has been a hospital, chantry chapel and school in its long history.

Path leading to the Boer War memorial at Coombe Hill, against a blue sky

History of the Chilterns Countryside 

The countryside of the Chiltern Hills is steeped in history. Explore the past of some of our sites, from royal visits to ancient hillforts.

Overhead view of an octagonal table with the figure of Silenus, a drunken follower of Bacchu, in The Library at Claydon House in Buckinghamshire


Learn about people from the past, discover remarkable works of art and brush up on your knowledge of architecture and gardens.