Opening times for 1 March 2024
Asset Opening time Church Closed
Staunton Harold Church is open from 7 April – 27 October. From 7 April, self-led visits are available on Saturdays and Sundays. Guided tours are also available. Visit the things to see and do article to find out more. Church services are held on the first and third Sunday of every month at 8.30am.MTWTFSS2627282912345678910111213141516171819202122232425262728293031
Assistance dogs only
Assistance dogs are welcome in the church.
Parking is in the main visitor car park for the Ferres Centre - the walk to the church is approximately 5 - 10 minutes.
Toilets (not National Trust), 500 yards from Church. Step to entrance, ramp available. Ground floor has steps.
It may be possible to drop off visitors closer to the church, by prior arrangement only.
Visitors are welcome to sit in the wooden pews.
A portable induction loop is available, on request in advance of a tour.
Only the ground floor of the church is open for public access. There is a low step into the church. The church floor is historic flagstones and can be uneven in places. There are two steps in the chancel in front of the alter and low steps into the pews.
Ramped access can be gained into the church upon request.
Staunton Harold Church is located near the Ferrers Centre, between Ashby de la Zouch and Melbourne, off B587. From Leicester take A50 onto A511, or take the A511 from Melbourne, Burton on Trent or Swadlincote. Follow the brown signs with the anvil symbol to the Staunton Harold Estate.
Parking: Parking is in the estate car park (not NT) - charges apply at weekends and bank holidays only. Once parked, directions to the church are located in the corner of the estate car park.
Sat Nav: Use postcode LE65 1RW and look out for the brown tourist signs with the anvil symbol.
Imposing 17th-century church built in 1653, with a fine panelled interior.
A beautifully restored thatched cottage with a modern rustic interior, set within Calke Abbey.
A cosy cottage packed full of character features and with stunning views over the Calke Estate.
Staunton Harold Church rises above a lake whose tranquil waters reflect the beauty of north-west Leicestershire’s gently rolling hills. It is a picture of rural peace and contentment. But you need not look far to find a very different story from England’s most turbulent times.
Built in 1653 on the instructions of Sir Robert Shirley Fourth Baronet, this is a rare building of its time, an era known as the Commonwealth Period, when Oliver Cromwell was Lord Protector of England.
Building this chapel was Sir Robert’s way of standing up for ‘all thinges sacred’ as he saw it: the High Anglican Church and the God-given right of the monarch to rule.
Staunton Harold Church, or the Chapel of the Holy Trinity as it is also known, is a fine example of Gothic style, which continued into the middle of the seventeenth century. The oak box pews and wood panelling are made from local oak by the Melbourne joiner William Smith. William also created the pulpit, the Jacobean-style panelling in the chancel and the original chancel screen which now stands beneath the organ loft.
Discover the fascinating history of the Chapel of the Holy Trinity at Staunton Harold and how building the Chapel cost Sir Robert Shirley his life.
Over the last few years, we've undertaken essential building and repair works at the church, to ensure that this place of reflection can be enjoyed for many years to come.