Tower Windmill, Burnham Overy Staithe, Norfolk
Looking for somewhere unique to stay on the North Norfolk coast for up to 19 people? The Tower Windmill might be just the place for you. The buildings stand alone and overlook the spectacular North Norfolk saltmarsh coast.
Built by John Savory in 1816, it was last used as a corn mill in 1914 before it was tail winded by a storm. Mr H C Hughes rescued the derelict building in 1926 and presented it to the National Trust in 1958. The mill stands alone and has spectacular views over the north Norfolk coast and surrounding countryside including Brancaster Manor and Scolt Head Island National Nature Reserve which is owned by the National Trust.
The Tower Windmill has six storeys, four of which are in use, with an attached cottage and outhouse.
- Ground floor: living/dining area, kitchen, parlour, two bathrooms with showers.
- First and second floor (mill): A dorm each sleeping eight in bunk beds.
- First floor (attached cottage): twin room with a travel cot, and a single room.
- Third floor (mill): sitting room/library.