The History of Rainham Hall
The Hall is a rare survivor and remarkably fine example of Queen Anne style architecture, built in 1729. It was designed as a home, to be lived in and used. Nearly 50 different families and inhabitants have resided at Rainham Hall, including merchants, artists, vicars and architectural historians.
Due to the many changes in ownership, Rainham Hall does not have an indigenous collection of furniture or objects relating to any era in its history. Since opening to the public in 2015 following a major £2.5 million conservation and interpretation project, Rainham Hall, Garden and the Stables Café have become a focal point of the vibrant local community.
The Hall now hosts exhibitions showcasing different former residents. Community participation is central to our exhibitions, ensuring a minimum of 60% of all exhibits are created in partnership with local makers and groups. The exhibitions have been Everything Harle Left Behind (7 October 2015 - 31 December 2016); Remembering the Day Nursery (10 Feburary 2017 - 31 December 2018); and The Denney Edition (29 June 2019 - December 2021).