The Opening of Rainham Hall

Rainham Hall has been home to nearly 50 different inhabitants in under 300 years, with the National Trust taking over ownership in 1949. From then it was let out to tenants with limited public access, until 2010. Following a major conservation project, the Hall opened fully to the public for the first time in October 2015, sharing the fascinating stories about the Hall's former residents in a programme of changing exhibitions.

Exterior of Rainham Hall

Rainham at the Centre of the World Project 

Discover how the National Trust opened Rainham Hall to the public for the first time in 2015, following a major conservation project.

Illustrations of former inhabitants at Rainham Hall in 2014

Who's living at Rainham Hall? 

Since 1729 it's been home to 50 different families and inhabitants, so who will be living at Rainham Hall when you visit?

The marbled paint effect decor in the entrance hall

Conservation approach 

Rather than a straightforward Georgian restoration project, the Rainham Hall team developed a unique conservation approach to reflect layers of history.

The Stable block roof during the project

Transforming the Stable Block  

Now the Stables Café, learn about the two-year conservation project of the historic Stable Block. Archaeologists discovered fascinating details about its construction and history.