Explore the Tudor stables at Willington
At approaching 500 years old, the Stables building is one of four remaining Tudor buildings commissioned by John Gostwick at Willington.
The Gostwick family had lived in Willington for hundreds of years as tenant farmers but, under the service of King Henry VIII, John Gostwick had risen to the position where he was able to buy the whole parish of Willington in 1529.
In his new role as lord of the manor, Gostwick demolished the medieval moated manor house and commissioned a splendid new set of buildings in their place. With its large interior and striking gables, the stables building creates an impression of how extravagant this historic manorial complex may have once been. Indeed, it is likely this building was not originally intended as stables, but rather a hunting lodge or accomodation for important guests.
As you explore the ground floor of the building, look around for clues as to the different ways this building may have been used in the past. The top storey is complete with a fireplace and windows offering a view over the surrounding countryside. Evidence of plastered walls and ceilings, and traces of glass in the windows can still be seen. No doubt this would have provided living quarters but over time the status of the residents may have varied greatly.
The Dovecote and Stables are open on the last Sunday of the month from April to September, please see here for our opening times.