A spot of tea-room history at Lyveden
Find out about the unique and fascinating history of the tearoom, from its life as a gamekeeper's lodge to a homely tea-room. The Cottage Tearoom at Lyveden offers a range of home-made goodies all year round.
The cottage itself has an intriguing history. It was built around 1690, using abandoned stone from the New Bield. For years it served as a small farmstead and gamekeeper’s lodge, even after the National Trust acquired Lyveden.
In 1847, the tenant farmer living in the cottage died. His wife and daughter were evicted from the cottage as females could not inherit a tenancy. There were many curious objects listed in the inventory, one of the most obscure being a ‘squirrel in a cage’.
The Cottage Tearoom at Lyveden, now open for business
The cottage has recently been transformed, whilst still retaining an historic atmosphere, and is now open to visitors. From 10.30am to 4.30pm, it offers delicious homemade treats, refreshing tea and coffee, and a comfortable place to escape from passing showers.
The project was generously supported by Northamptonshire ACRE, which aims to support the development of tourism within the county.
Come along for a visit
Whether popping in for a quick cuppa, treating yourself to a cream tea or some cake, or enjoying a little savoury something, The Cottage Tearoom at Lyveden is well worth a visit.