Everything Harle Left Behind

Rainham Hall opened to the public in October 2015 following a major conservation and interpretation project. This charming early eighteenth century house is nestled in the heart of Rainham village on the far eastern fringes of London. With engaging installations and changing exhibitions, there is something for all ages. Rainham Hall has been home to a richly diverse cast of characters. We've drawn inspiration from research about their lives to tell some great stories, starting with Captain John Harle, who built the Hall in 1729.

Rainham Hall is an historic house with a difference. Following a major project visitors are able to discover for the first time fascinating stories about the Hall's former residents. The house and stables have undergone a two-year programme of conservation and development thanks to grants from the Heritage Lottery Fund, Veolia North Thames Trust, Biffa Award, Constance Travis Charitable Trust, National Trust London Centre Association, and with support from London Borough of Havering and the involvement of over 100 volunteers.

Everything Harle Left Behind

Rainham Hall presents an innovative visitor experience developed with award-winning architecture practice Studio Weave, following a collaboration with the residents of Rainham Village, local groups and creative practitioners from across the borough. 
 
Everything Harle Left Behind is the first exhibition at the Hall and tells the story of Captain John Harle, the enterprising merchant and ship’s captain who built the Queen Anne-style house.
 
An atmospheric narrative unfolds over three floors of the building, including a film installation exploring the perils of life at sea. Visitors hear sea shanties and the sounds of far-away coastlines, and can play a game with real 18th-century coins.

Please note Rainham Hall will be open Fridays to Sundays, 10am-5pm from 1 November until 18 December 2016. The Hall will then close until re-opening on 1 March 2017 with a new exhibition.