The History of Stoneacre
A medieval yeoman's house that has been restored and was originally saved from destruction by Arts and Crafts scholar, Aymer Vallance.
When Aymer Vallance took on Stoneacre in 1920 his wife described it as 'practically a ruin'. After years of neglect, Stoneacre had fallen into disrepair. Together with his architect, Vallance set about restoring the dilapidated house into the charming property that it is today.
Building a hidden gem
Stoneacre's early years are bound with the Ellys family, whose relatives would give their name to Ellis island, the gateway for millions of immigrants to the United States.
The oldest parts of the house that we see today were built by John Ellys but unfortuantely we know very little about him. The hall house itself was built in the 1480's, and there is a very important reason as to why Stoneacre was originally built here. There are four buildings nearby which we believe were all built in strategic loactions for the 15th century quarry masters to keep a watchful eye over their precious resource.
The Ellys family looked after Stoneacre until the early 18th century, forced to sell after faring badly in the civil war and finding themselves in financial turmoil. For nearly two centuries after, the house was owned by farmers and eventually fell into disrepair until Aymer Vallance restored Stoneacre in 1920.