The history of Cronkhill on the Attingham Estate
From a generous gesture for a friend to a family bolt hole, take a look at the changing purpose of this Italianate Villa.
Building Cronkhill House at Attingham
Cronkhill was built for Francis Walford, a friend and agent of the 2nd Lord Berwick, who lived in the mansion at nearby Attingham Park.
It was designed by John Nash, the renowned architect behind many famous landmarks such as Regent Street in London and Brighton Pavilion. Nash also designed the Picture Gallery in the mansion at Attingham Park.
Walford leaves Cronkhill
Walford took residency at Cronkhill in 1806. However, in a letter from 1828 Lord Berwick complained of Walford’s neglect of duty.
Their relationship seems to have turned sour and Walford eventually left both Cronkhill and the service of Lord Berwick.
The Berwick family
Following Walford’s residency, Cronkhill was mainly occupied by members of the Berwick family. It offered a more modest home for them, with Attingham either being closed up, or tenanted during this time.
Cronkhill’s most notable resident was the 5th Lord Berwick, who kept a prize-winning herd of Hereford cattle there. He also named his innovative ‘Cronkhill Rifle’ after the house.
In the 1900s, the 8th Lord and Lady Berwick returned to live at the Attingham estate. They lived at Cronkhill before moving into Attingham Hall in the 1920s.
Today, Cronkhill is privately let and is open on a small number of selected dates during the year.
From ancient landscapes to mansion restoration, discover the rich history of the Attingham Estate.
Enjoy a walk around Attingham’s restored Walled Garden and discover the seasonal top things to spot in the kitchen garden, orchard and pleasure grounds.