During the Medieval period the landscape of Attingham was settled and farmed, with scattered farms and small villages making up much of the area. The Domesday Book records four manors on the estate, at Uckington, Atcham, Brompton and Berwick, they varied in size and extent.
The village of Berwick Maviston is first mentioned in the Domesday Book and was recorded to be home to 11 households in 1086. In 1793, Thomas, 2nd Lord Berwick, extended the parkland around the Mansion and demolished the remaining buildings of the medieval village of Berwick Maviston to incorporate land bought by his grandfather 40 years earlier. The tenants were subsequently rehoused at Berewick Wharf.
Not many Medieval buildings survive, but traces have been left in the landscape that give us a clue what the area will have looked like in this period. Much of the land was dominated by open fields and extensive evidence survives for strip fields and ridge and furrow remains give evidence for ploughing techniques.
Ridge and furrow field systems show up clearly as distinctive striping effect on LiDAR imagery. This map focusses on the area surrounding the modern entry and exit points of Attingham and shows that open field systems once covered much of the land which was converted to parkland in the 18th century.
Uckington Heath, at the meeting point of the parishes of Atcham and Wroxeter, provided common grazing, fuel and other resources for its surrounding communities. Flood plain meadows along the Severn will also have served a similar purpose.
Field and place names such as ‘middle coppice’, ‘grotto coppice’, and ‘clay pits’, give us clues as to how the rest of the land was used in this period. The rivers would have played an important role, with evidence for both fisheries at Cronkhill and Duncote as well as corn mills along the Severn and Tern at Atcham, Duncote and Uckington.