Visiting St Michael's Church at Baddesley Clinton
Explore the Grade II*-listed St Michael’s Church, situated close to Baddesley Clinton, with many connections to the families who have lived in the house.
Visiting the church
A short stroll from Baddesley Clinton, along a 250-yard section of the Heart of England Way will bring you to the church. Take the path on the right as you leave reception, there is a sign to guide you.
In the early spring, the churchyard comes alive with flowers – first snowdrops and then daffodils and bluebells. There is an annual Bluebell Service in the church each May.
Look out for the unique organ which is inscribed ‘Sarah Green, Organ Builders to their Majesties, Isleworth 1797’ and is used regularly for recitals.
The history of the church
Records show a church on this site in 1305 and the nave dates to that time, but there may have been a church there two, or even three, centuries earlier. Originally dedicated to St James, the dedication was subsequently changed to St Michael, possibly following the 19th century restoration.
A murderer’s penance
Nicholas Brome (c.1450-1517) was Lord of the Manor of Baddesley Clinton and lived in the house.
One day in 1485, he came home and surprised a man in the parlour “chockinge” (stroking) Brome’s wife Elizabeth “under ye chinne”. Enraged, Brome drew his sword and killed him, only to discover he had murdered the Rector of St James. There is a bloodstain on the floor of the library which may, or may not, be where the murder occurred.
In penance for this act Brome built the towers of this church and of the church at nearby Packwood. They are sometimes known as the ‘Towers of Atonement’. He also stipulated in his will that he should be buried in the porch of the church:
‘Within the Church door as the people may tread upon mee as they cone [sic] into the church.’
- Nicholas Brome, 1517
Links to the Ferrers family
The church also contains many references to the Ferrers family who lived at Baddesley for many generations.
In the chancel is the brightly painted table tomb of Sir Edward Ferrers who died in 1535. The nearby east window has 16th-century stained glass, with likenesses of Sir Edward Ferrers and Lady Constance, who paid for the window.
There are also several examples of the Ferrers coat of arms, which features a seven-diamond pattern, particularly in the two funerary hatchments mounted on the wall to Henry Ferrers (1830) and Edward Ferrers (1794).
The church is not part of the National Trust estate, for more information about the church and services, please visit the church website.
Uncover the history of Baddesley Clinton. Murder, shelter, survival and friendship form its story which dates back over 500 years.
From priest holes to the Great Hall, intimate family chapel to blood stains in the library, step inside the house to uncover 500 years of history.
Wander round the walled garden, courtyard and orchard that make up the garden here at Baddesley Clinton.
Explore the 150 acres of parkland, open farmland and dense woodland that make up the estate. Relax by the lake, discover the animal sculptures in the woodlands, and watch wildlife.
From making friends with a bug to adventures in the great outdoors, there's something for everyone to enjoy at Baddesley Clinton. Find out what we're planning for the October half-term break.