Flatford Mill & the Stour

Early records describe a mill involved in fulling cloth and it was called Flotfordmelle. For nearly 100 years from 1742 to 1846 Flatford Mill was owned by the Constable family. It continued as a working mill untill 1900 when it became a private residence. In 1943 the mill was acquired by the National Trust and leased to the Field Study Council.

Fulling Paddle Calderdale

Flotfordmelle

Early records describe a mill involved in 'fulling' cloth and it was called Flotfordmelle.

A close-up of the painting of Flatford Mill by John Constable

Flatford Mill & the Constables

For nearly a hundred years from 1742 to 1846 Flatford Mill was owned by members of the Constable family.

Flatford Mill on a Winter's day

Flatford after the Constables

Follow the history of the mill as a working mill untill 1900 and thereafter as a private residence until 1943 when it was acquired by the National Trust and leased to the Field Study Council in 1946.

Horse and man near River Stour

Navigation on the River Stour

The River Stour was made a navigable river by Act of Parliament in 1705 but it wasn't an easy process. With access rights and a five-foot difference in water height to navigate, discover how the crew tackled the route.

Flatford Lock

Flatford Lock

Flatford lock was orignially turf sided and located about 20 yards to the north of the present lock.

Flatford's Dry Dock

Flatford Dry Dock

The Dry Dock, re-discovered in the 1980's, features in Constable’s famous painting Boat Building near Flatford Mill (1814).