Inside Nunnington Hall
Nunnington Hall sits on the quiet bank of the River Rye. A dwelling of status is recorded here from 1249, but the existing house has grown out of a Tudor hall. Over the past 450 years the house and estate has been altered to suit a succession of owners and tenants. But the house we see today is a fascinating combination of renovation and re-purpose, creating the atmospheric and comfortable home.
Margaret's 'big house'
In 1920 Nunnington Hall, now in a poor state and uninhabited for a number of years, was inherited by Margaret Fife from her uncle, Henry. Margaret had always adored Nunnington, and as a girl used to stay in a farmhouse in the village and became very attached to the dilapidated house, ‘the big house’.
Just a few of our favourite rooms........
The Stone Hall
The Smoking Room
The Oak Hall
During Lord Preston’s remodelling, in the late 17th-century, this room became an entrance hall. It was fitted out accordingly with impressive door-cases with open topped pediments, a screen of three arches and a stone floor laid in a sophisticated pattern of squares and hexagons.
Mrs Fife's bedroom
One of many people’s favourite rooms is Margaret’s bedroom, which provides beautiful views across the garden she loved so much. Substantially larger than that of her husband’s, the room is feminine and bright. Around the room are family paintings and photographs, including the portrait of Margaret as a young girl, above the fireplace. The walls are hung with crewelwork embroidery of richly dyed worsted wool.