Park Farm was designed by Samuel Wyatt in 1805 as the model estate farm for Thomas Anson.
Shugborough was at the forefront of this rise of purpose built model farms. The development of Park Farm provided a new, more efficient way of farm management incorporating the very latest in modern machinery and up-to-date techniques where the workings of the estate had previously been carried out at White Barn Farm about half a mile south east of Park Farm.
Park Farm was considered so modern and innovative that young apprentices came from all over the country to be trained in the best farming practices of the time, as well as landed gentry who visited to admire or compare notes.
Explore Park Farm house and see the preparation areas such as the scullery, meat store and kitchen where food including bread was made and normally where the farm workers ate. Although apprentices would not have been paid their accommodation and meals would have been included at Park Farm house.
Discover the water mill by the mill pond used to help process animal feed and flour for baking providing bread for the whole estate and is also a fine example of its type in the country.
The original estate dairy used to be sited on the ground floor of the Tower of the Winds which you can visit close by and was originally moated with two bridges either side.
See some heritage breeds such as longhorn cattle, southdown sheep and poultry that live on the estate, just as they would have done 200 hundred years ago when Park Farm was first built.
Pigs were also an important original feature of Park Farm and will be on site in the near future as we continue work to ensure they have a comfortable home, and their pig sties meet the RSPCA’s Freedom Foods animal welfare standards. We have reduced fencing and provided more space for them and of course our visitors to enjoy this historic landscape.