The Old Carpenters Yard
The Old Carpenters Yard in Coleshill village was reopened to visitors in May 2019. The building project brings a new welcome hub, café, second-hand bookshop and multi-use events space for visitors to Coleshill village and parkland.
When the former Coleshill community shop closed, we stepped in to create some new visitor facilities. Staff and volunteer teams cleared spaces, decorated and clean to help move things along in time for opening.
The Old Carpenters Yard project creates a heart for this historic village with ample space for visitors and locals. For the first time since it came to the Trust in 1956, there is now a welcome area for visitors that we hope will develop into a space to find out more about the varied and fascinating history of this apparently quiet village.
The development of the Yard also marks the start of Home Farm’s emergence as the National Trust’s Conservation Skills Centre.
There is a new café called the Carpenters Canteen, serving lunches, coffee and refreshments. It has a large outdoor seating area and welcomes all visitors and is dog friendly. It’s already a bustling location to meet with friends and explore the countryside around Coleshill.
The former community shop has been converted into a multi-use space called the Old Timber Store and will be used for conservation courses, talks and local community hire. Photographs showcasing traditional heritage skills adorn the walls along with a display of carved timber from the estate by local stone and wood-carver Tom Ball.
There are toilets in the Yard, including an accessible toilet with baby change. An information room provides maps, information on the village and conservation skills. It is open everyday from 9am to 4pm on weekdays and from 10am to 4pm at weekends.