The house is open from 1 March until 31 October when it closes for conservation. Opening hours are 11am - 4pm with last admission at 3.30pm. The dramatic architecture of the house is part Regency, part pseudo-medieval, and now part ruin following a fire in 1947. Nothing is quite as it seems but room stewards are on hand to explain how this intriguing house fits together.
Explore the Messel family rooms
Discover our collection
Take a tour of our dream house
Paper hats & polish
Mondays, Wednesdays & Fridays 11am