The working watermill at Acorn Bank
Tucked away between the trees and the Crowdundle Beck, the watermill is only a short walk away from the entrance and the house.
There has been a watermill at Acorn Bank for hundreds of years. The first mention is made in 1323 when the estate passed to the Knights Hospitaller, however the present building dates from the early 19th century.
Although primarily a corn mill, the mill has also been used to provide power to the gypsum mines which were located on the estate.
The mill ceased to work in the 1940s and gradually fell into a state of ruin. Restoration began in the late 1980s, at which time the woodland walks were also opened, allowing visitors much greater access to the property.
The mill building was partially restored with the help of work experience teams and has been open to the public since 1995.
Getting it running
In the last few years the mill has undergone a further transformation with the help of a dedicated team of volunteers, who have restored the machinery within it to working order.
Flour was ground for the first time for more than 70 years in September 2011 and the achievement of the volunteer team was recognised when they won the Marsh Heritage Volunteering Award in 2012.
The mill now 'works' on most weekend afternoons, April to October, producing flour that is sold in our shop and used in our tea-room.